Community Journal for Texas Music Professionals, Musicians, Businesses and Fans to Connect and Share Texas Music News, Events, Concerts and History

15 Feb 10 Open Call for Nominations for 2011 Texas Medal of Arts

Email this Post Print this Post

The Texas Cultural Trust ( has announced Adair Margo, El Paso, and Alice Carrington Foultz, San Antonio/Austin, will chair the 2011 Texas Medal of Arts Awards on February 28 and March 1, in Austin, celebrating the state’s legendary artists, entertainers and art patrons, with a series of events, including a gala dinner, starstudded awards ceremony, and after-show dessert reception. Both women bring unprecedented experience to the Texas Medal of Arts, having served on various boards and commissions including the Texas Commission on the Arts. The Trust also issued an open call for nominations for the 2011 honors.

Texas Medal of Arts“The Texas Medal of Arts Awards is a biennial celebration, honoring some of the most creative people in the world. Our honorees have made their mark globally, but their backgrounds are rooted locally, having either been raised in Texas, developed a significant portion of their body of work in Texas, or supported the arts in a way that made a significant impact on arts development in our state,” said Adair Margo.

Margo served as chairman of the President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities from 2000-2008, focusing on international cultural diplomacy. Since 1985, Adair has owned the Adair Margo Gallery in El Paso (now Adair Margo Fine Art), that has exhibited over 400 individual artists from a dozen countries, and has placed the work of regional artists in the collections of national museums, the Oval Office of the White House, and in U.S. Embassies worldwide. The Texas Medal of Arts Awards, the signature event of the Texas Cultural Trust, spotlights and celebrates the creative excellence, exemplary talents and outstanding philanthropy by Texans in selected categories, ultimately featuring the best in Texas. The Awards celebration honors these great Texans, and at the same time is the medium to raise substantial dollars to help support arts education initiatives and to maximize awareness of all aspects of the arts. Past TMAA winners include: Van Cliburn, Laura Bush, Tommy Lee Jones, Willie Nelson, Charley Pride, Tommy Tune, Lyle Lovett, Robert Rauschenberg, Walter Cronkite, Clint Black, Jose Cisneros, Ornette Coleman, Bill Wittliff, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Joe and Teresa Long, Edith O’Donnell, Bill and Diana Hobby, and more. (For a complete list of recipients go to

“The Texas Medal of Arts Awards is an opportunity to recognize the best Texas has to offer. It is an award for Texans and we want Texans to be a part of selecting the honorees, though this open nomination process,” said Alice Carrington Foultz.

Foultz is president of the art consulting firm Carrington Gallery, Ltd and has over twenty years of experience in the visual arts. She has served in the capacities of art consultant, curator, educator, gallery owner, radio host and entrepreneur. She currently serves on the San Antonio Public Art Board and the White House Historical Association and has been the curator for San Antonio Spurs Sports and Entertainment since 2001.

The 6th biennial Texas Medal of Arts Awards is accepting nominations in the following categories:

· Lifetime Achievement
· Music
· Literary Arts
· Visual Arts
· Theatre
· Media/Multi-Media
· Film
· Arts Education
· Dance
· Craft
· Architecture
· Foundation Arts Patron
· Individual Arts Patron
· Corporate Arts Patron

Awards will not be presented in all categories. Nomination forms and criteria can be found at Nominations must be postmarked no later than March 1, 2010. A number of world-class companies, foundations and individuals from across Texas provide ongoing support for the Texas Medal of Arts Awards. AT&T is the title sponsor, continuing their participation since the Awards inception in 2001.

Be Sociable, Share!

Posted by:

Tags: , ,

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.